github-copilot · free
GitHub Copilot Student Pricing & What's Included
Data checked · price verified 2026-10-25 · model access verified · cross-checked against 1 source
GitHub Copilot Student at a glance
- Best for
- Verified students
- Usage
- AI credit allowance
- Key perks
- Free for verified students
- Agent mode & MCP
- Automatic model choice
- ✓ Coding agent
| Attribute | GitHub Copilot Student | GitHub Copilot Business | GitHub Copilot Enterprise |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | Free eligibility required | $19 per seat/mo | $39 per seat/mo |
| Best for | Verified students | Organisations on GitHub | GitHub Enterprise Cloud orgs |
| Usage | AI credit allowance | 1,900 credits/seat, pooled | 3,900 credits/seat, pooled |
| Models | GitHub Copilot automatic model selection | Claude Haiku 5.5, Claude Opus 5.5 +12 | Claude Haiku 5.5, Claude Opus 5.5 +12 |
| Key perks | Free for verified students; Agent mode & MCP; Automatic model choice | Pooled AI credits; IP indemnity; SAML SSO | Pooled AI credits; IP indemnity; Enterprise Cloud required |
| Coding agent | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Team admin & SSO | Not listed | Yes | Yes |
✓ listed in the provider's current plan terms · — not listed (may still be available) · How we verify →
Monthly fee vs included usage (AI credits per month). Bars use a square-root scale so small plans stay visible.
| Plan | Monthly price | Usage | Usage per dollar |
|---|---|---|---|
| GitHub Copilot Business | $19 1,900 credits/seat, pooled | 1× | |
| GitHub Copilot Enterprise | $39 3,900 credits/seat, pooled | 1× |
Listed monthly prices; taxes and regional pricing excluded · How we verify →
Included models
- ✓ GitHub Copilot automatic model selection
Usage limits
Full usage terms
Free only for verified students. Includes an allowance of AI credits; the current source does not specify a numeric allowance or completion cap. Models are selected automatically, not a guaranteed selectable API SKU. Third-party agents are excluded.
Features
- →Verified student eligibility required
- →Automatic model selection
- →Copilot CLI and Copilot app
- →Agent mode and MCP; third-party agents excluded
How it compares
Sources (cross-verified)
Free only for verified students. Includes an allowance of AI credits; the current source does not specify a numeric allowance or completion cap. Models are selected automatically, not a guaranteed selectable API SKU. Third-party agents are excluded.