Affiliate disclosure: we may earn commissions when you sign up through some links below, at no extra cost to you. This never affects our pricing data, comparisons, or recommendations. Learn more.

Physical Intelligence API pricing: Pi beta rates and access

The October 13 Pi API beta offers managed robot-model fine-tuning and inference through a hosted gateway. It is an application-based beta, not a publicly priced text-model API or a plug-and-play guarantee for every robot.

Pi API beta pricing: publicly undisclosed

Official announcement and access page verified . Access: gated beta, onboarding in batches.

Cost layerPublic rateWhat to confirm
Managed fine-tuningNot disclosedTraining billing unit not published
Hosted robot inferenceNot disclosedInference billing unit not published
Minimum commitmentNot disclosedCommercial terms not published
Free tier or beta allowanceNot disclosedNo public entitlement confirmed

Undisclosed is not free. No per-token price, training rate or robot-hour fee is inferred. Apply for beta access · Structured source record. Daily source monitoring.

Hosted beta versus self-managed openpi

Cost or access itemPi API betaSelf-managed openpi
Model accessLatest models via managed API; version unspecifiedPublished openpi checkpoints; not confirmed equivalent
Training priceNo public rate disclosedYour GPU and engineering costs
Inference priceNo public rate or billing unit disclosedYour serving hardware and operations
Free tierNot announcedNo hosted-service entitlement
DeploymentHosted inference demonstrated; local availability unconfirmedYou operate the policy server

What the Pi API includes

Upload robot data, launch fine-tuning on Pi-managed compute and infrastructure, and run the fine-tuned model on your robot via hosted inference. Collect demonstrations, test failures and iterate. These are published capabilities, not confirmation of included billing allowances.

Most showcased applications used cloud-hosted inference. Pi acknowledges network connectivity challenges. The application asks whether you want cloud, local or both; that question does not establish a generally available local beta product or an on-premises price.

Budget for the whole robot workflow

Ask for training charges, inference units, reserved capacity, failed-run billing, storage, transfer, support and minimum commitments. Add your demonstration collection, integration, hardware, supervision and evaluation costs. Compare total spend per accepted robot task under the same success and safety criteria.

Openpi publishes pi0, pi0-FAST and pi0.5 artifacts for self-managed experiments. Public code does not eliminate compute or operating costs, and it does not identify the beta's latest hosted model. Review the applicable code and checkpoint terms before deployment.

Full Pi API beta pricing analysis · Compare separately priced text APIs. Text token rates are not robot-action prices.

If your team wants help documenting evaluation meetings, Fireflies is an optional meeting-notes tool. It is separately billed, not a Pi API dependency, robot controller or validated integration.

Affiliate disclosure: we may earn a commission from the sponsored link at no extra cost to you.

Labs access and robotics-harness blocker

Batch-onboarded beta; AI Pricing Guru has no approved Pi API account, credentials, pinned hosted model ID or published billing unit/rate. The text suite cannot evaluate robot actions. A valid test needs an authorized robot or simulator, fixed task and policy versions, demonstrations, repeated trials, action/latency/failure traces, success grading and a complete training/inference cost ledger.

Read the explicit Labs decision. No beta request, robot run, latency test or quality score is claimed.

Common questions

How much does the Physical Intelligence Pi API cost?

The official beta announcement and application page publish no rate card, billing unit, minimum commitment or free-tier entitlement. Pricing is undisclosed, not zero; request commercial terms from Pi.

Can anyone use the Pi API now?

No. Pi says it is starting small and onboarding in batches through an application. We have not obtained an approved account or tested an authenticated request.

Is the hosted model pi0.5?

The announcement references pi0 and pi0.5 as foundations but does not name its latest hosted model. Openpi model artifacts are not proof of the beta endpoint identity.

Does the Pi API work on every robot?

The company shows diverse partner applications, not a universal compatibility guarantee. Integration, demonstrations, evaluation and deployment connectivity remain application-specific.

Official sources and maintenance

Verified 2026-10-14. Daily official-source and freshness checks flag rate-card, model-identity and access changes for Data review; both JSON copies and this shared pricing table must be updated together.

Canonical service pricing JSON · Matching API record