Physical Intelligence API Beta — Pricing Impact (Oct 2026)
Physical Intelligence opens a robot-model API beta. See what is available, why pricing remains unknown, and what to ask before committing.
By AI Pricing Guru Editorial Team
AI Pricing Guru articles are maintained by the editorial workflow behind the site: daily pricing snapshots, provider source checks, and review passes for model launches, subscription limits, and billing changes.
TL;DR
- Physical Intelligence announced the Pi API beta on October 13: upload robot data, fine-tune on managed infrastructure, and use hosted inference.
- Access is waitlisted, with onboarding in batches. The announcement does not name the exact latest model version or promise support for every robot.
- No public training price, inference price, billing unit, or free tier was disclosed. This is an access launch—not an announced price cut.
- Robotics teams should compare a written beta quote with self-managed openpi, including demonstrations, integration, connectivity, and cost per successful task.
Pi API beta pricing: publicly undisclosed
Official announcement and access page verified . Access: gated beta, onboarding in batches.
| Cost layer | Public rate | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Managed fine-tuning | Not disclosed | Training billing unit not published |
| Hosted robot inference | Not disclosed | Inference billing unit not published |
| Minimum commitment | Not disclosed | Commercial terms not published |
| Free tier or beta allowance | Not disclosed | No public entitlement confirmed |
Undisclosed is not free. No per-token price, training rate or robot-hour fee is inferred. Apply for beta access · Structured source record. Daily source monitoring.
Hosted beta versus self-managed openpi
| Cost or access item | Pi API beta | Self-managed openpi |
|---|---|---|
| Model access | Latest models via managed API; version unspecified | Published openpi checkpoints; not confirmed equivalent |
| Training price | No public rate disclosed | Your GPU and engineering costs |
| Inference price | No public rate or billing unit disclosed | Your serving hardware and operations |
| Free tier | Not announced | No hosted-service entitlement |
| Deployment | Hosted inference demonstrated; local availability unconfirmed | You operate the policy server |
Physical Intelligence’s Pi API beta offers managed robot-model training and inference; pricing remains undisclosed. Its October 13 announcement, “Frontier Models for Every Robot,” targets adaptation to customers’ hardware and tasks.
Our Physical Intelligence pricing page tracks the source-backed snapshot. No numerical discount or hosted-versus-local break-even can be calculated yet.
What changed: a managed robotics workflow
The workflow is straightforward: upload demonstrations, launch fine-tuning on infrastructure Physical Intelligence manages, then access the fine-tuned policy through a hosted inference gateway. Collect failures and evaluation data to guide the next training iteration.
Managed infrastructure does not replace task data, robot integration, or physical evaluation.
The company claims more data-efficient fine-tuning and improved partner capability—not an independent benchmark. It references π0 and π0.5, but does not identify the beta’s exact latest serving version.
Availability: apply, do not assume instant access
The beta form says Physical Intelligence is starting small and onboarding in batches. Applicants describe their robotics experience, hardware, data, task, and success criteria; immediate self-service access is not promised.
The announcement describes Actor’s wheel loader operating at a commercial deployment and Almond’s Axol deburring assembly spacers after four days of API iteration. These are partner examples, not universal success rates or guaranteed timelines.
Most showcased applications used cloud-hosted inference. Physical Intelligence explicitly notes network-connectivity challenges for some deployments. Although the form asks whether applicants need cloud, local, or both, that question alone does not confirm local beta deployment is available.
Pricing impact: infrastructure changes, rates remain unknown
The announcement and access form provide no public rate card, minimum commitment, inference billing unit, training charge, or free-tier entitlement. Not disclosed does not mean free. Nor does the launch establish that cloud inference is cheaper than operating your own GPUs.
The alternative is openpi, the company’s published robotics models and tooling. Its documentation lists π0, π0-FAST, and π0.5 checkpoints and gives example GPU-memory requirements: more than 8 GB for inference, 22.5 GB for LoRA fine-tuning, and 70 GB for full fine-tuning. Requirements depend on configuration. These are self-managed reference points, not specifications for the hosted beta or proof of model equivalence.
Budget around total cost per successful robot task: training iterations, inference, demonstration collection, integration work, connectivity, and interventions. Token pricing alone cannot capture that deployment bill.
Who benefits—and who still has work to do
Robotics teams with hardware and demonstrations but limited ML infrastructure capacity gain a potential managed path. Established teams can test whether faster iteration offsets service charges and dependence on a provider.
Teams without robots, demonstrations, or integration experience still face those prerequisites. Deployments needing reliable offline operation should establish a supported local path before relying on the beta. Existing self-hosters should retain their baseline until access, performance, and commercial terms justify a change.
What to do before joining
- Specify one task. Record task success, cycle time, interventions, and current cost; supply that context in the beta application.
- Request written commercial terms. Ask for the training and inference billing units, failed-run charges, minimums, storage or transfer fees, included support, and spending controls.
- Confirm deployment boundaries. Ask about supported hardware, latency, outage behavior, local inference, model-version changes, data use, and export of fine-tuned artifacts.
- Run a matched pilot. Use the same robot, task, and evaluation conditions for beta and self-managed policies. Measure useful completions and the full bill before scaling.
If your stack separately uses a language model for planning or operator chat, our OpenAI pricing page, Anthropic pricing page, and token calculator cover that distinct expense. Those rates do not price Pi robot policies or establish equivalent robot-control capability. For budgeting principles, see how to calculate AI API costs.
Sources: Physical Intelligence’s announcement and beta access form, plus the official openpi repository. Checked October 14, 2026. We have not accessed the beta or tested its robot policies.
Labs access and robotics-harness blocker
Our Labs coverage notes record an explicit blocker: we have no approved Pi beta account, endpoint credentials, pinned hosted model ID or published billing basis. The deterministic text suite cannot evaluate robot actions. A valid comparison requires an authorized robot or simulator, fixed tasks and policy versions, repeated trials, action/latency/failure traces, accepted-task grading and the complete training/inference ledger. No beta quality or savings score is inferred.
For searchable evaluation-meeting notes, Fireflies is an optional, separately billed documentation tool—not a robot controller, Pi dependency or tested integration. Recorded robot outcomes, not meeting summaries, remain the benchmark evidence.