Higgsfield 10-Minute AI Video: Astra Pricing Impact
Higgsfield says GPT-6 Astra enables AI videos over 10 minutes. See current API rates, credit-cost limits, voice-to-video status and what to test.
By AI Pricing Guru Editorial Team
AI Pricing Guru articles are maintained by the editorial workflow behind the site: daily pricing snapshots, provider source checks, and review passes for model launches, subscription limits, and billing changes.
TL;DR
- OpenAI's October 13 customer story says Higgsfield moved from roughly one-minute videos to instructional videos over 10 minutes using an Astra-orchestrated workflow.
- Astra plans and calls tools; its API outputs text, not video. The story announces no new video endpoint, plan price, or cost per finished minute.
- GPT-Image-2.5 supports promotional imagery; GPT-Live-1 voice-to-video is a future ambition, not an announced generally available Higgsfield feature.
- Compare total credits, tools, retries, editing and review per approved minute—not video length or text-token rates alone.
GPT-Live-1 voice-session rate—not a voice-to-movie launch price
| Model | Primary / min | Primary / hour | Streaming / hour | Change |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GPT-Live 1 | $0.05 | $3.00 | — | Baseline |
Primary rates use the provider's published minute and hour values. Speech-to-text rows show REST as primary and list the separate WebSocket streaming rate where available. Additional text, tools, or telephony charges may apply.
Live values come from the canonical pricing API.
Current GPT-Image-2.5 API rates—not a finished-video quote
| Model | Text input | Cached text | Image input | Cached image | Image output |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GPT-Image-2.5 Flare | $5.00 | $1.25 | $8.00 | $2.00 | $30.00 |
| GPT-Image-2.5 Sunburst | $5.00 | $1.25 | $8.00 | $2.00 | $30.00 |
USD per million tokens of each modality, not per generated image. Cached-input rates require an eligible request. Rates come from the canonical pricing API and the official rate card.
Planning costs—not complete video-production spend
USD per 1M tokens. Input and output rates are charted separately.
Estimate planning tokens; add media and review costs separately
Assumes 75% input tokens and 25% output tokens using current per-million rates.
GPT-6 Luna
openai
$2.00
- Input share
- $0.75
- Output share
- $1.25
GPT-6.1 Sol
openai
$40.00
- Input share
- $15.00
- Output share
- $25.00
GPT-6 Astra
openai
$200.00
- Input share
- $75.00
- Output share
- $125.00
Current planning-model API rates—not Higgsfield video prices
| Model | Provider | Input / 1M | Cached / 1M | Output / 1M |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GPT-6 Astra | openai | $10.00 | $1.00 | $50.00 |
| GPT-6.1 Sol | openai | $2.00 | $0.1 | $10.00 |
| GPT-6 Luna | openai | $0.1 | $0.01 | $0.5 |
Built from pricing.json at publish time.
Higgsfield says its AI video workflows can now produce videos over 10 minutes long, up from around one minute before GPT-6 Astra. OpenAI’s October 13 customer story attributes that result to Higgsfield’s creative agents and Astra’s ability to call external tools, including for complex 3D-modeling work.
The useful change is longer, coordinated production, not a new video-generation model or a price cut. The story names no final video-generation endpoint, exact public product tier, per-video credit bill, or generally available ten-minute export entitlement.
What changed: instructional videos over 10 minutes
CEO Alex Mashrabov says Higgsfield’s team built a workflow to generate instructional videos over 10 minutes for its YouTube channel. Astra helps agents perform repetitive production work and use external tools to maintain consistency across a longer piece. OpenAI also describes exploratory educational use in rural schools in Kazakhstan.
These are first-party workflow examples. The story does not establish that a single API request generates an uninterrupted ten-minute clip, that every subscriber has access, or that longer videos cost less per minute.
| Component | Role in the official story | Buyer boundary |
|---|---|---|
| GPT-6 Astra | Planning, creative agents, external tools and product engineering | Text-output model; not the video-render endpoint |
| GPT-Image-2.5 | Promotional images, readable text and infographics | Exact Flare/Sunburst variant and image usage not disclosed |
| Codex | Creative-team software prototypes and engineering workflow | No before/after engineering cost ledger published |
| GPT-Live-1 | Future spoken-idea-to-movie ambition | No Higgsfield release date, entitlement or voice-to-video price announced |
| Higgsfield’s media pipeline | Produces the finished instructional video | Render models, credits, retries and total bill not disclosed |
Higgsfield pricing: what can actually be verified
The announcement does not disclose a change to OpenAI’s public API rates or introduce a Higgsfield-specific OpenAI SKU. We checked the official rate card and relevant model documentation against our canonical pricing feed and API feed.
The live planning, image and voice tables above use maintained structured data. Astra’s short-context and long-context prices are distinct: above 272K input tokens, the higher rates apply to the full request, not just the excess. Cache writes, processing mode, external tools and image generation add separate cost dimensions. The cheaper planning models shown are comparison controls—not claims that Higgsfield uses those routes.
OpenAI’s Astra model documentation lists text/image input and text output, with v1/videos unsupported. Do not multiply Astra token prices by video duration to infer a finished-video price. GPT-Image-2.5’s exact variant is unspecified in this story; both public variants are shown for comparison. Cached image-input pricing applies only to images generated with the Responses API.
We also inspected Higgsfield’s rendered pricing page. It displays region-specific monthly/annual subscriptions, credits, model-dependent consumption and limited-duration promotions. Prices exclude VAT and local taxes, and access to new models and features may roll out gradually. Web-only unlimited/free-generation benefits are not available through MCP/CLI, Canvas or Supercomputer. None of that page’s general plan information identifies the credit cost or plan entitlement for the particular over-10-minute workflow in OpenAI’s story. Check your region, billing term, model, export quality and credit consumption at checkout.
The correct budgeting unit is:
Cost per approved video minute = (planning + image/video generation + tools + failed runs + editing/review) ÷ approved minutes.
Use our OpenAI pricing page and calculator for the planning component, and our AI image pricing guide for image-cost comparisons. Neither prices the entire Higgsfield production workflow.
Is Higgsfield voice-to-video available?
Not as a launch announced in this story. OpenAI says Higgsfield wants creators to describe an idea and see it take shape while speaking, calling that vision “voice to movie.” GPT-Live-1’s public voice-session rate is billed per second, with backend model and tool usage charged separately. That existing API price is not a quote for generating a movie, and ten minutes of video does not imply ten minutes of voice-session billing.
This page updates our September coverage. The earlier Higgsfield engineering story described shipping product features in a day; that is separate from the October duration claim.
Labs availability and replay blocker
This story receives an explicit Labs coverage blocker, not an imported benchmark score. Our maintained text suite cannot measure ten-minute video continuity, educational accuracy, image text, or voice-to-movie latency, and the current Labs route lacks authorized Astra access.
A valid comparison needs authorized access to the exact workflow, pinned planning and render models, rights-cleared scripts and references, fixed length/resolution, complete outputs and traces, tool and token bills, Higgsfield credit deductions, failures, latency, human editing time, and blinded continuity/accuracy grading. A future voice replay also needs released access, audio inputs, interruption tests and backend bills. No such reproducible package or accepted-minute ledger accompanies this announcement.
Who should test it—and how
Small creative teams and educators should test whether longer coherent drafts reduce manual assembly. Developers should separate Astra’s orchestration value from media-generation spend. Longer output is useful only when enough of it passes review.
- Use the same script, assets and quality requirements in Higgsfield and your current workflow.
- Confirm the exact feature is available on your account and whether its credits and exports fit your plan.
- Record every generation, discarded clip, tool call, credit deduction and editing minute.
- Grade scene continuity, factual accuracy, text legibility, brand compliance and usable duration.
- Compare cost per approved minute and time to publish across repeated runs.
For a separate script-to-video publishing workflow, compare Pictory’s script-to-video tools. Pictory is not the Astra-powered Higgsfield workflow, and this is not a claim of equal capability or lower cost. Affiliate disclosure: AI Pricing Guru may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Bottom line: Higgsfield’s reported jump to videos over 10 minutes is a production-workflow advance. It is not evidence of lower API prices, a single ten-minute render endpoint, a universal subscription entitlement, or a released voice-to-movie product.
Sources: OpenAI’s Higgsfield story, official API pricing, Astra documentation and Higgsfield pricing. Official sources checked October 13, 2026; the displayed API prices are refreshed through our recurring pricing pipeline and this asset’s daily source watch.